The Iowa Department of Transportation requires 8 hours of Dealer Pre-licensing Education if you want to become a used motor vehicle dealer. Current used motor vehicle dealers must take 5 hours of continuing education every two years prior to renewal to maintain their license.
Classes must be taken by the dealership owner, principal, corporate officer, director, member or partner of a limited liability company, or limited liability partnership. Other members of your organization may attend, but do not qualify toward meeting the dealership’s pre-licensing and/or renewal continuing education requirements.
As a motor vehicle dealer in the state of Iowa these classes are designed to provide you with a solid foundation of current federal and state laws, rules and regulations, and techniques for good business practices.
Call 319-296-4290 for course questions or email Business and Community Education. Please be prepared to provide the class ID.
Hawkeye Business and Community Education provides professional skill development for individuals and businesses. Browse a complete list of our courses or course series and if you do not see the type of course you are looking for contact us to learn more about designing customized training for your workforce.
Click on the course title to view the entire class description and class details.
Use the grey arrows to below to explore additional classes in this area.